Thin Mint Cupcakes

It’s been way too long since my last post, because well… life. But I have been baking, just saving these pictures and recipes to share with you when I found the time. This one has been waiting nearly a month, but I promise it’s worth the wait.

Like every other American, I LOVE girl scout cookies. It’s really hard to choose a favorite between tagalongs, samosa, even lemonades are delicious. In reality, nothing beats the Thin Mint. Seriously, nothing. I love them so much, that I decided to make a cupcake inspired by them.

Coincidentally last night I was watching cupcake wars, and there was an episode for the girl scouts! To my surprise, nobody did a thin mint cupcake, well not really anyway. So either I’m too basic, or a genius, I’ll let you decide šŸ™‚

Here is the recipe.Thin mint cupcakes

ChocolateĀ  Mint Cupcakes
1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1Ā tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. peppermint extract
1/2 cup boiling water
Thin Mint Buttercream
3/4c. butter, softened
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. peppermint extract
2-3c. powdered sugar
1/4-1/2c crushed thin mints
green food dye
Instructions
1. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees
2. Add all dry cupcake ingredients and whisk together
3. Add oil, egg, and buttermilk to the dry ingredients, mix well.
4. Add extracts to boiling water and add to mixture, mix well.
5. Pour batter into lined and greased cupcake pan, filling a little over halfway and bake about 20 minutes.
6. Remove cupcakes form the oven and allow to cool completely before frosting.
7. To make the frosting, beat butter until smooth.
8. Add your extracts and beat again.
9. Slowly add powdered sugar until you reach desired consistency. (if it too thick you can add cream or milk 1tbsp at a time.)
10. Add food coloring until desired minty color is reached.
11. Crush up 10-12 thin mints in the food processor and add them to the frosting. (I reserved a littleĀ for decoration.Ā Make sure the pieces are small enough to fit through the frosting tip you plan to use.
12. When they are cool, ice your cupcakes and top with a little bit of crushed cookie “sprinkles”
** This recipe was adapted fromĀ one of my favorite bloggers. I used the same chocolate cake recipe that was used for my Smore’s cupcakes, only added mint. This is from http://www.lovelifeandsugar.com. **

 

2 thoughts on “Thin Mint Cupcakes

  1. I love your blog and those cupcakes look awesome!! When I don’t have thin mints I’ve been buying the Oreo thin mint cookies. They’re so good!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

