Perfect Buttercream Frosting

It’s birthday season in my family, and with that said I’ve had cakes on the brain big time. I am constantly thinking of new ways to change or edit my cake recipes to make them even better. There is one recipe that I will not mess with, and that is my buttercream frosting.

buttercream

It’s no secret that frosting is the best part of eating cake, but bad frosting can ruin anyone’s day. We’ve all had bitter frosting, or frosting that tastes too much like butter (ew.) and frosting where you can feel the sugar eating through your teeth. That’s a lovely visual, I know.

I would like to share with you, my not-so-secret recipe that I use for most all my cakes and cupcakes, just in case you are looking for some perfection in your life! It’s smooth, creamy, and just the right amount of sweet!

Ingredients:

  • 1C. Salted Butter — Room Temperature and It must be salted y’all (can do 1/2 unsalted 1/2 salted if you’re bothered by the salt)
  • 3 1/2C. Powdered Sugar
  • 2Tbsp Heavy Cream
  • 1-2tsp vanilla (or flavored extract of your choice)

Directions:

  1. Using your stand mixer, with the paddle attachment whip the butter for about a minute to fluff it up a bit.
  2. Add extract of your choice
  3. Add powdered sugar 1C. at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl.
  4. At this point you will have a very very thick frosting.
  5. Add your cream with the mixer on medium speed
  6. THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT STEP: Turn your mixer to high speed and whip that frosting, and I mean whip it good. 3-4 minutes usually gets the job done. It’ll be soft, fluffy and oh so tasty.

**This yields a frosting is perfect for piping on cakes and cupcakes, you can make it more thick or thin by adjusting the amount of cream**

Leave a Reply

